An event is not an event when there is no public.  And there will not be public without an invitation . So I was really pleased that Kafee Iwish reacted to the EFA-AIFW2009 participation call, indicating that he would like to create the graphic artpiece.  Even more when I heard he is living and working in the fashion capital, Paris as a graphic designer in real life!  Let’s see if we can learn some nice tips and tricks from him. I contacted him for some questions.

Kafee, how does the usual workday of a graphic designer look like?

Aw, there is no usual workday, I can be asked to design a lot of different things, like affiches, logos, magazines, flyers, invites, cards, building in SL for events, drawing, photomontage and many more! And all have different format, different software to use depending if it is for prints, web or even SecondLife, each with a specific subject, specific place, so no, there is not a usual workday!

How do you find inspiration to create something new every time?

Haha, so I will disappoint you, there is no magic formule, sometimes it comes all of a sudden, rarely I must say. Most often, the first creation you do on receiving the demand is not nice and put you on a stressed and bad mood. Usually at this moment I think, what I do is just sheet! As a lot of creators, I am not an isolated case. So the nights come… nights sometimes if you have enough delay and when you wake up maybe because the brain was working ” free” during the night (” free”  means inhibit – non conscience – of the stress and fear of the white page), you have it! Inspiration!!


EFA-AIFW2009 - Jan Toorop - Then

One of the artpieces in the Beurs van Berlage: Jan Toorop – Then


How do you prepare your work for making a graphic artpiece for an invite?

First “L”: Listen carefully to the one who is asking in a natural way, try not to interrupt and be sure to have all necessary. Ask for the graphic chart to respect, the ambiance wishes, the message and the public.  Second “L”: Look and Learn, find a maximum of documentation about the theme and place, because you have to know a minimum about before to go on creating (I have never heard of the Beurs van Berlage before and couldnot have known without some research). Also you have to look to give a more close atmosphere and feeling to the people who will come to the event, they maybe already know a little bit the place or feel close to the subject and want to know more. This can be done with pics, special typo and design of the invite (modern, retro, colorfully). And when you ” possess”  all, preparation is done and you can go on create!

What are the big do and dont’s according to an invite?

Usually an invite is not a big format, size. So stay simple and put the essential on visibility. For me about the text, I prefer to use not more than 2 letter-types, or just one and playing with the size and bolding effect, if necessary 2 colors, or use 2 nuances (black and grey for example). If you use a pic, you can play with the principal colors of the pic. I used this for the EFA-AIFW2009 invite too, but “flat” colors for the text readability. That are my ” do’s”, for the ” dont do” , go inverse!


Mucha - Muse de la Danse

Muse de la danse –  Mucha


What kind of style do you like most?

Hehe, can I escape this question? I like all styles, lets say I prefer to go on eclecticism as for the music I listen and I agree, I prefer more drawing style or typo graphism. and yes, I love one guy, Mucha and art deco style too and not too bright colors! But I really mean I prefer, I can not say I don’t like a style.

Does EFA fit your style?

As I said, I like all styles, I am not fixed on one, so yes, EFA fit my style! Why? Because each client has a different style so each time it is a new challenge, be on harmony, understand and appreciate their creations and satisfy my curiosity. Try to show the best way they do, be a ” support” of their creation is a nice gift for me (aw, yes, I am sensitive!). Work on a creation for EFA fit me perfectly well :-)


Kafee Iwish (graphic designer)

Kafee Iwish pictured in Paris by Connie Arida, dressed by Alphamale

Kafee Iwish is dressed in a casual winter outdoor outfit by Alphamale:

- Alphamale – Winter coat outfit – Green:  Alphamale – Knitted sweather – Beige, Alphamale – Wintercoat (outfit comes with formal pants, not shown on picture)

- Alphamale – Brown Denim Jeans(from the Alphamale – Brown Jeans & Tees set), the belt can be completed with the optional Alphamale – Brown Denim Jeans Belt buckle (not shown on picture)

Alphamale was established in the winter of 2007, now a year later, Yelmer Pfeffer, the man behind Alphamale, has developed his designing talent enormously. His collection offers a high quality of men fashion, from casual to more formal clothes. Every type of man can find a piece here what suits his style and needs.  And guys… the Alphamale & Blacklace Mall is made for easy gifting, so don’t forget to take a nice lingerie present for your girl at the Blacklace section of the mall!

EFA - AIFW 2009 (red)

The Graphic Artist for EFA-AIFW2009 will be Kafee Iwish.

