From where I’m standing, new designer Aphrodite Outlander looks set to be a winner. Her collection, although small, packs a mighty punch and I was tickled pink with the choice. I met up with her recently to find out how she is doing in the big fashion world of SL.

aphrodite_002.jpg

Harriet Gausman: When did you first start designing in SL?

Aphrodite Outlander: My rezzdate was on the sixteenth of September 2007 on a nice lovely day, and I started building quite soon. I had no idea what Second Life had in store, and in fact my overall idea about it wasn’t too well. Then I found out about the building possibilities, and with my previous 3d program experiences I followed some classes about the SL options for builds. About two weeks after I downloaded the templates and started designing clothes as well. I think that a month after my SL-birth I had my first creations up for sale and I had designed two outfits for a big store in SL. note: the first week I wasn’t doing anything besides pimping my av and learning how to walk and use my camera.

Harriet Gausman: What or who do you consider your inspiration for your designs?

Aphrodite Outlander: My imagination. I started with looking at real life designs, but my collection now is based on me starting of with a clean scene to paint on, or my 3d program (for my sculptiedesigns), and let my creativity have a go at it.

aphrodite_007.jpg

Harriet Gausman: How would you describe your collection?

Aphrodite Outlander: I think my collection (although small) has quite some variety. It goes from business suits to gowns and shoes. And I would describe it as fair priced as well. It’s always a complete outfit you buy, and most of them you get in different colours per set so you get multiple outfits.

Harriet Gausman: Who do you think buys your clothing?

Aphrodite Outlander: I think this is a hard question. I hope to have something in my store for everyone. Sadly there’s none for men yet, but I plan on releasing some in the future. I think I’m now mostly found through the online fashion shoppers. Most people that come here found me through a blog of any kind. And so people who buy here are from there, who actually like what they see.

Harriet Gausman: Where do you see yourself headed in terms of business and design?

10-10-10.jpg

Aphrodite Outlander: I’m hoping to cooperate with other designers more. Like I just did with Saki Galiazzo who released shoes matching my AC Tender Allure dress. Most of all I see myself heading into creating all that is within my might, fashion-based. I will expand my store soon, and make space for more designs to come. I am planning on keeping the time to be in my store regularly as well. I would like to stay connected to my customers like I do now. They are the ones that got me where I am now, and will take me where I will be in the future. So here’s a thank you to all of them.

I am seen wearing Tender Allure (Rose); a vibrant, sexy red creation. The outfit consists of ribbed sweater, glitch pants, skirt and matching over-the-knee socks. You’ll find a whopping twelve colour selection in the Tender Allure range, so you will be spoilt for choice, and each individual piece is ideal for matching with other outfits. Check out Aphrodite’s store Aphrodite Creations and you’ll be tickled pink too.

092.jpg

Body: Jane Seymore from Alady Body Shapes
Skin: Linda (Fashion Eyes) from PXL Creations
Hair: Glamorous I from Armidi
Outfit: Tender Allure (Rose) from Aphrodite Creations. Aphrodite also has a wonderful selection of shoes that match every colour choice in the Tender Allure range.

 

 

 

