vettes-boutique_001-1.jpg

Vette DeCuir began designing only days after rezzing and she has gone from strength to strength. It’s easy to see why; with a graphic design background strongly influenced by European culture and a unique modern eclectic style, the asphalt road to success is a clear stretch ahead. I caught up with Vette this week to talk about her collection and where she sees her business headed.

Harriet Gausman: When did you first start designing in SL?

Vette DeCuir: I am fairly new to SL, I’ve been a member since July 2007 and began getting involved in designing my own clothes within a few days after joining. As with most new people I had no money, so designing my on clothes seemed a fun and cheap way of looking good.

Harriet Gausman: Did you have any RL design skills or did you learn in-world?

Vette DeCuir: Yes, I am studying Graphic/Fashion design at a university in England, so I feel I have a good grasp for using the software involved in making clothes textures in SL. The fashion side of my course helps me understand trends and what’s in/out in RL and these always play a huge part in SL fashion.

vettes-boutique_035-1.jpg

Harriet Gausman: What or who do you consider your inspiration for your designs?

Vette DeCuir: I have always had a strong interest in Fashion Design and following trends, so that has always played a strong part in my designs. As far as the styles of the clothing go, I think that comes from my childhood – I have always been a fan of rock music and typically went through the rebellious ’emo’ stage but throughout have always had an appreciation for high-fashion and also as I am from England, I think European style is very influential. With all of that in mind I guess the result is what I have designed.

vettes-boutique_058-1.jpg

Harriet Gausman: How would you describe your collection?

Vette DeCuir: I like to include vintage elements with modern street-wear; I aim to make the collections different and sometimes quirky, but still wearable. I love customer feedback and a wise lady once said, it’s like “London meets Paris,” which I totally love!

vettes-boutique_060-1.jpg

Harriet Gausman: Who do you think buys your items?

Vette DeCuir: I really don’t know… I design my clothes without a particular type of customer in mind, so I hope that anyone in SL could wear my designs. I always design clothes that I would wear in and out of SL, so the perfectly suited customer would be all of the mini-vettes out there, haha!

vettes-boutique_063-1.jpg

Harriet Gausman: Where do you see yourself headed in terms of business and design?

Vette DeCuir: I have always considered Vette’s Boutique as a smaller store. When I started, I had a tiny little shop that felt so cute and for me to imagine having a massive store in the future feels slightly uncomfortable. I like the smaller boutique quality that new designers have and I want to keep that within my business as it grows. As far as future designs go, I just want to keep doing what I am doing and have a store full of clothes that I love. Right now, I really love quirky prints and vivid colours, so I hope to include those in my newer designs.

vettes-boutique_029-1.jpg

Visit Vette’s Boutique today.

