Harriet Gausman: When did you first start designing in SL?

Guerrilla Gobo: I first started in my third or fourth month in SL and was just selling things through my profile and to people I would meet in welcome areas. I didn’t really make friends with anybody at first, I wanted to learn all about building and so I did that for a while then I got interested in clothing and decided to start making simple t-shirts.

Guerrilla Gobo, himself

Guerrilla Gobo

Harriet Gausman: Did you have any RL design skills or did you learn inworld?

Guerrilla Gobo: Well, like a lot of people who get asked this, I have a graphics design degree. But, I was never interested in 3D modeling or texturing before I joined SL. I already knew Photoshop and had been working with it since about version 4 or 5, so I just went on the forums and downloaded some templates and started figuring it out.

Harriet Gausman: What or who do you consider your inspiration for your designs?

Guerrilla Gobo: I think it’s hard to pinpoint one exact thing that I would consider to be my inspiration. It’s a mixture of my mood, the music I have playing, and the people around me. Sometimes a friend will say that they are going to make something and I get a vibe that makes me want to make something too.

Harriet Gausman: How would you describe your collection?

Guerrilla Gobo: I would consider it as being a bit semi-casual with a lot of you-could-find-me-at-a-thrift-store kind of a feel. I hate trying to classify things really, I just make what I like, simple as that.

Harriet Gausman: Who do you think buys your items?

Guerrilla Gobo: I really don’t have any idea. I’d like to think that anyone could find at least one thing in my shop they like enough to buy. But if I had to say specifically, I guess it would say a demographic of 18-80 year old men and women..

Harriet Gausman: Where do you see yourself headed in terms of business and design?

Guerrilla Gobo: As far as my approach to how I make things is concerned, I think I am right where I want to be, but one should always try to improve themselves with each thing they make. I don’t really know where I’ll end up as far as business is concerned, because I don’t really plan ahead in that aspect. I do, however, plan what I will be making and when I’d like it to be done, but I try not to set strict deadlines because I wouldn’t enjoy this as much. For now, I’d like this to be a hobby rather than a second job.

Visit Heartattack and Vine and get yourself something good to hangout in.

