There’s a new girl in town, and she is on fire! Mariska Simons of Blacklace, is the fantastic lingerie designer who is currently hitting the fashion scene in SL. I took some time to look around her store and you wouldn’t believe the selection and the quality of her sexy creations! She’s got it all: from the naughty to the nice. Blacklace is just what the doctor ordered to add some spice to your bedroom! I also had the chance to sit down and chat with Mariska. With a great sense of humor and a constant smile, she made it impossible not to have a good time. We were able to get down to business eventually, but not before my stomach ached from laughing.

Shown above: Black Lace II in Pink

DE: Well, let’s start with the very basics, how long have you been in designing in SL?

MS: Oh not long at all to be honest. *Smiles* I started back in January at the push of Yelmer Pfeffer, my business partner and designer of Alphamale. If it were not for him, I would not have even tried.

DE: Wow! I’m glad he pushed you. Your lingerie is so realistic looking! Have you found it hard to take the RL quality and move it into the SL setting?

Mariska Simons laughs: Me too!! Yes, there are some designs where I just want to cry; no matter how many times I have dodged, shadowed, ect.. ect.. I am not able to get the fabric to look, just as I wish. Sooo… what originally was to be a satin corset… becomes a deeply rich velvet.

DE: It good to hear you put that much effort and care into your designs, it’s what sets them apart, I’m sure! Where do you seek inspiration when working on new designs?

MS: I have always felt that the best designers are those who are obsessed and love what they do. When they do, you get a glimpse of their soul, their passion in their work. I try to keep that in mind and only design when inspired. My inspiration comes from many things. From watching something on TV to flipping through pages in a fashion magazine. I like to keep up to date on the latest fashion trends and colors of the season. Also, customers inspire me. I will ask what they wish to see and design to the best of my ability what they describe.

DE: Perfectly said. I was going to ask what you feel sets you apart from the many other lingerie designers out there, but you pretty much just answered that! Do you feel there is more than the care and effort you put into your work that sets you apart?

Mariska Simons laughs: I think that is what sets each of us apart. If we take the time, put that driven obsession and aim it into our work, its going to come to life, a part of ourselves is going to show, and that will set apart any of those designers from those whose heart is really not into it.

DE: I agree completely.

DE: Has the great success you’ve had been overwhelming at times? You seem to just be able to go with the flow and carry it even further.

Mariska Simons laughs with a grin: I have days where I am extremely overwhelmed. But luckily, I do have Yelmer to help me. He has been a wonderful support and partner. So, when there is more then I can handle, I can sit with him and ask him to help. For the most part though, I tend to go with the flow. I handle chaos well. LMAO!

DE: You need to in the SL fashion industry! Chaos is half the fun! LOL!

MS: LMAO! That is exactly right!! LOL, it is! After you collapse in a chair and just breath.

DE: Ok, a little off subject, but I’d like to know a little about you. What made you decide to come to SL in the first place?

Mariska Simons laughs: It was my sister, Kerry Simons. She came to this game a little less than two years ago and begged me to give it a try. I was hooked instantly. The shopping was insane, as well as the freedom that Second Life offers.

DE: Oh yes! I am right there with you. I think I was hooked my first log in!

Mariska Simons laughs: It’s impossible not too. It’s like going to an amusement park for the first time in you’re life. There are so many rides, shows, exotic food, you do not know what you want to start with first; and a day is never enough!

Darcy Earnshaw laughs: You aren’t kidding! So what are some of your favorite things to do in SL? Besides creating, that is.

MS: Shopping? *laughs* and more shopping? I am still looking for those 12 step programs. I am addicted to shopping. I love seeing the creativity from other designers. I also love exploring artsy sims: museums, historical sims, etc., and surfing. *Grins* Surfing is a lot of fun!

Darcy Earnshaw throws her head back and laughs: Alright, I have digressed. So much fun though! Hahaha. Back to the designs…

MS: It was fun. *grins*

DE: What is your personal favorite?

MS: Oh, that’s’ tough. It depends upon my mood. I do love both of the Passionate sets. The other series to that line should be coming out in a day or so. Another of my favorites is the Dark Lusts, for when I feel a bit more aggressive, edgy. *winks with a devious grin*

Shown above: Dark Lusts in Blue

Darcy Earnshaw laughs: The outfit makes the mood! Or is it the other way around?

Mariska Simons laughs: Ohhh, I think 50/50!

DE: We are all dying to know…..What do you have planned for Blacklace in the near future?

Mariska Simons laughs: I will keep Blacklace a lingerie line only. I might later introduce some accessories to go along with the lingerie. That is still in the talks. Also, look in the future for skins and shapes: affordable for those who are just starting in Second Life.

DE: Is there anything else you would really like the readers to know about you, the store, the designs, anything?

MS: Hmm… *laughs* Yes! All things are transferable. So, if you are looking for a gift for your partner, you will find nearly everything in both Alphamale and Blacklace to be transferable! I know that is a personal issue for me, when seeking a gift to buy a friend.

DE: Oh me too. That is awesome!

Mariska Simons grins.

As you can see, Mariska Simons is one of a kind, which shows in her designs. Head down to Blacklace and take a look, I assure you, you won’t be disappointed!

SLurl to Blacklace Main Store!

