Elegance, power, sophistication, style, and glamour are five words used by Valenttina Carfagno to describe her line, Frozen Turquoise Valentine (FTV) [landmark].  FTV appeals to a broad range of personal styles by providing individual elements in each look designed to mix and match with other outfits.  FTV vibrantly  reinteprets classic designs through a youthful lens and incorporates haute couture sillouttes in ready-to-wear garments.  I sat down with Valenttina to discuss her creative perspective.


Christiana: How long have you been in Second Life (TM), and when/how did your business begin?
Valenttina: I have been in Second Life (TM) since May 2nd, 2007. So you make the math… hahaha.. and I started designing pretty much since September last year but the business really started off in October… so Frozen Turquoise Valentine is about to become a 1 year old toddler.

Christiana: How did you come up with the name Frozen Turquoise Valentine? I love it!
Valenttina: Thanks. I’m a turquoise lover so I wanted that in the name… Valentine is both romantic and a version of my Second Life (TM) name.  And frozen because I love sparkles and frost… So it was a great mixture of things that resulted in the brand name!

Christiana: What sparked your interest in starting your own line?
Valenttina: I have always been a fashion girl… I have this genuine love for it and getting to Second Life (TM) just made me realize that more.  Then I got caught in the design world and discovered I was truly passionate about it.

Christiana: Did you have any RL design skills or did you learn inworld?
Valenttina: When I got here I had no design skills at all so everything I have learned and will learn is being triggered by Second Life (TM) curiosity and my ever ending desire to be the best.

Christiana: What or who do you consider your inspiration for your designs?
Valenttina: Inspiration is all around you can find it in the color of a flower, a shopping rave with friends or anything at all.

Christiana: How does your line interact with RL fashion trends?
Valenttina: Since I’m a fashion lover I try to always be up to date with RL fashion so sometimes I take the trends I like the most for the upcoming season and bring them to life in Second Life (TM). But I also love that there are no seasons on Second Life (TM)… so you can always break a rule or two here…

Christiana: What distinguishes your line from others in Second Life (TM)?
Valenttina: I think designing is a great load of work… that without passion and soul would be unbearable… so each line has a little piece of the designer wich makes it unique. In my lines I put a lot of love and attention to quality and details and that is something special.

Christiana: What do you feel is the single most important characteristic of successful Second Life (TM) designs?
Valenttina: Passion and care for details.  Garment designing in Second Life (TM) requires much more than just photoshop.

Christiana: What are your suggestions for those shopping on a budget?  Where should they save, and where should they splurge?
Valentina: Hmmm… I’m a splurger… lol. But there are always key pieces on a collection… seek those… or the ones you think you can mix and match more with things you already own.

Christiana: What projects are you undertaking at the present time?
Valenttina: Many… lol… but the number one on my list so far is the release of the fall line which involves preparing the celebration for FTV’s first year with all the glamour and fireworks it deserves.

Keep an eye out for FTV Fall-Winter 08/09 collection in the next few weeks.  I will be checking the store for more details.  Thanks Valenttina!

