Sonia28 Jie has impressed many fanshionistas with her daring necklines and elegant silhouettes.  Her line, Son!a, provides the women who seeks chic and provocative everything she needs to complete a polished, formal look.  Pictures fail to accurately portray the vibrant colors and detailed textures of Sonia28’s garments.  The tasteful drama of a Son!a gown must be appreciated in person and transforms the wearer into a queen for the night.  Sonia28 gives us insight into Son!a.

Christiana: How long have you been in Second Life (TM), and when/how did your business begin?
Sonia28: I am sixteen months old.  My business started a year ago in a 512×512 land with a few designs.

Christiana: What sparked your interest in starting your own line?
Sonia28: I started designing when I was 3 days old.  I searched for tutorials.  The tutorials on Natalia Zelmanov’s “Mermaid Diaries” blog were particularly helpful. In addition, I used my formal knowledge in Illustrator and Photoshop.  Creating a line or collection was what drove me into Second Life (TM).

Christiana: Did you have any RL design skills or did you learn inworld?
Sonia28: I am RL fashion designer and graduated from a school of fashion in Montreal.

Christiana: Please explain your brand name. It’s so fun!
Sonia28: “Son!a” is the name I always wanted if I ever did my RL line or collection.  It is my name with a twist which describes well how I design… yes, exactly with a twist!!

Christiana: Did you find it the transition from the world of RL fashion to Second Life (TM) fashion difficult?
Sonia28: Actually the whole experience in Second Life (TM) design has improved my drawing technique, my software use, and I have learned more drawing programs.  I try to make 3D objects, so Second Life (TM) added to the knowledge I already have in RL, not the other way around.

Christiana: How does your line interact with RL fashion trends?
Sonia28: In my RL work, I do research about the market almost everyday.  That might have a bit of influence on my designs, but the fun part of Second Life (TM) is that clothes may defy all rules of RL like openings, gravity, and draping.  In Second Life (TM) you don’t need a zipper or buttons to put on the dress, but these details add a realistic look to a design.

Christiana: What do you feel is the single most important characteristic of successful Second Life (TM) designs?
Sonia28: To have a unique design, and realistic textures.

Christiana: What distinguishes your line from others in Second Life (TM)?
Sonia28: I try to be original as much as possible.  As they say: “In Fashion there is nothing new under the sun.”  I try to make original fancy designs and add details to the textures.

Christiana: Your gowns are exquisite, and yet, reasonably priced.  Why have you tried to keep your prices affordable?
Sonia28: A dress in Second Life (TM) is a work of art.  There is no specific price tag for that.  We all want to look great without affecting our RL budget.  For me, I do designs and I have Second Life (TM) business because I enjoy it, not to make a living out of it.

Christiana: What are your suggestions for those trying to minimize the impact of their Second Life (TM) shopping habit on their RL budget?
Sonia28: All women love shopping, and even though I do a lot of designs, I still buy from other designers all the time.  For those who are on budget, I know it is hard to resist sometimes, but wait 24-hours.  If you still cant forget that specific garment…buy it!!!

Christiana: What do you see for the future of your business?
Sonia28: My dream is to expand.  I want to have my own sim with a major section devoted to wedding gowns and wedding accessories.

Christiana: What advice do you have for designers just starting out?
Sonia28: To have fun in what they do, and always add their touch or style that makes their designs distinguishable without pressing the inspect button.

Thank you, Sonia28, for your time and contribution to our Metaverse. Please visit her store or blog for information regarding Son!a designs and the “I Am Sexy” model contest.  I can’t wait until the next Son!a “I am sexy” Model is revealed!

