In my experience, when a designer can be found in her shop a lot, it speaks well of both her and her designs. It’s no wonder then that the clothing at MEB, owned by MariaElena Barbosa, blew me away. I think that MariaElena was in her store every time I stopped by, and her sweet demeanor and helpful attitude were the first things that struck me about the shop. This brilliant Italian designer was kind enough to show me her newest collection and allow me to sample some of her designs. Before I get into the specific outfits, it should be noted that a lot of the clothes at MEB come as full outfits, complete with shoes and/or accessories, all just as beautifully detailed as the clothing.

The first outfit that just had to be mine was Jenny (above, left), a spunky outfit that really plays with color. Jenny comes with everything that I’m wearing in this picture – from the gorgeous lavender blouse, to the chunky prim belt, to the dainty green stilettos. There are two skirt length options with Jenny – I’m wearing the miniskirt version, but there is also a longer version of the skirt that completely covers the top of the stockings that may be more appropriate for the winter months. Next to Jenny I am modeling the Milano coat in orange, a fabulous choice for autumn! Milano comes with a studded belt, coordinating scarf, and a silver bracelet (not shown) Here I paired Milano with a pair of rolled knit tights from Worldwide Industries and Starley pumps from ETD. Milano is also sold in grey, green, and powder blue.

Next up I have two outfits that couldn’t be more different. On the left is the Annemarie kilt paired with the Paris shirt, a combination great for a day at work or play. The belt and the kilt are all one prim attachment, so no more struggling to adjust your belt AND your skirt. The Paris shirt is a very cute blouse that coordinates well with the kilt and shows just the *right* amount of cleavage! The blouse and skirt are sold separately, but both are very reasonably priced. The Venice combination (above, right) is something different altogether, and is a great choice for a night out. This combination screams SASSY and comes with long black gloves and a zebra-striped bangle. This lime green bangle adds an unexpected twist of color to an otherwise dark outfit, lending the ensemble just the right amount of playfulness.

Lastly I will show you a couple of outfits from MariaElena’s past collection, which are currently on sale. Above left is the Spring outfit, a summery tank-dress that comes with lovely coordinating brown shoes. The delicate flower embroidery on Spring makes this the perfect dress for a summer picnic date. And the neckline – well, let’s just say, your date won’t have any complaints! On the right is the Formentera outfit, a cute cap-sleeved dress with another fine floral pattern. Formentera comes with the same shoes as the Spring dress, except in black instead of brown. As I mentioned, both dresses are on sale and well worth a trip to MEB in their own right!

MEB stands out as a wonderful example of Italian fashion at its finest. I am looking forward to many more beautiful designs from this designer, and I have a feeling I won’t hesitate to snatch up every new item! Between the warm welcome from MariaElena and the high-quality designs, this store is definitely not to be missed!

CREDITS:

Hair – Lara from Dernier Cri

Shoes – Either Starley pumps from ETD or Wrapped wedge boots from Shiny Things

Stockings – Rolled knit tights from Worldwide Industries

