Oscar Page

Oscar Page

If you have looked at the latest issue of Second Style (Issue #23), you’ll notice a very prominent name listed on the cover- Oscar Page.   A title well deserved, I might add.  I’ve known Oscar for quite some time and he’s not only been a very good friend, but is one of the few men I know in Second Life that not only loves to shop, but always looks very stylish and up-to-date.  Unlike most men in Second Life who tend to wear the same thing over and over, Oscar has more than one or two outfits in his inventory. Oscar is also one of the old timers, has been in Second Life since 2004, so he has  a unique perspective on fashion for men and how it has evolved through the years.  Oscar has harnessed all those years and created his own blog for men’s fashion in Second Life called Oscaresque Fashion Sense in a Second World.  If you are male in Second Life who can’t stand shopping and the time involved,  then you’ll definitely want to bookmark this site to find out the latest styles and releases. 

Oscar graciously agreed to talk with me on his opinions of fashion for men in Second Life as well as model an outfit after the interview.

First off, Oscar I would like to congratulate you on your cover story for Second Style as this issue (#23)….Style Guy!

Why thank you Musique. It was a shock and surprise to me.

I’m not surprised myself.  I’ve been coming to you for fashion advice for many of my male friends, as well as myself.

And considering how much you’ve asked, they better be damn good looking. 😉

Musique Gable laughs.  You’ve been in SL quite some time now — since 2004.  How has fashion changed for men since you first started?

Well I’ve pretty much watched the fashion world evolve over the past 4 years here. At first, I wasn’t all that interested in it. I mean your basic stuff of course, but my fashion bug didn’t really hit until around 2006.

As we all know, men’s fashion has been sorely neglected in SL compared to women’s fashion.  Have you seen an increase in designers for men’s clothes since you became interested in it?

Well, I would say in comparison to before, the ratio of male clothing designers to female clothing designers has increased slightly. The quality of male clothing has come a long long way.

Yes, I would have to agree with you there.  Speaking of which, do you have any particular designers you favor in particular?

To be honest, I can’t say one. I mean I love Casa del Shai because Shai is probably my best designer friend, but Casa del Shai doesn’t dominate my inventory. I like a lot of things from all of the places. Putting it all together is the fun part, right?

Yes, and for most men, the difficult part!

haha that it is…takes me forever to put together an outfit.

What advice would you give men in SL about fashion in Second Life?

I would say that you should do you, in the best possible way that you can. Don’t be a sheep and always follow whatever somebody else tells you the greatest. If it doesn’t work for you or if the quality is not there, don’t do it.

Good advice!  Speaking of inventory…how large is your inventory as it relates to clothing and fashion?

To be honest, I can’t say off the top of my head, but I would guess it’s in the 70/30 range.

So fashion dominates a vast porition of your inventory.  I’m not surprised, you’re always looking stylish and handsome.  If you had to pick one item or particular outfit that you would call your favorite, what would that be?

There’s no way I could pick one favorite outfit. I have too many looks that I like to pick one.

Fair enough.

And my tastes change from one day to the next. lol

You had mentioned that putting together an outfit was always the fun part, yet the most difficult.  You have made it easier for men out there, by starting a blog called Oscaresque Fashion Sense in a Second WorldWhat made you start a blog about men’s fashion in SL?

As I mentioned in the article, the nagging of two individuals. My girlfriend Pheobe and also Catero.  They made me open up my closet to the blogosphere.

Well me, along with the hapless males out there, thank them and thank you for sharing your styling tips with us.   How would you describe your style?

At it’s core…always me.

Well said, Oscar!  I’d like to thank you taking some time out to chat with me and again, my congratulations on being the Style Guy for Second Style.  I was definitely deserved and quite an honor.

I know quite the honor. I got completely blindsided by it myself.

Now time to wrestle you to my photolab, so I can take a picture of you in an outfit to help the men out there look as well put together and stylish as you.

Thanks for considering talking to me for your blog as well…I’ve watched you grow in the fashion world as well. 😉

Always my pleasure…Oscar.  You are not only rockin it style wise, but always the gentlemen!

Blazer:     Hoorenbeek – Jacket – Blazer – Closed w/shirt in Bordeaux
Pants:      idiots! – Slacks in Gray
Shoes:     Armidi Gisaci – Alto Belmiro in Black
Scarf:      FNKY! – Multi Scarf
Shades:  Armidi Gisaci – Lifestyle Aviators in Silver
Hair:       Uncleweb Studios  – Ilias in Black
Skin:       Dernier Cri – Cole in Coffee w/5 ‘o Clock Shadow

