tillie1

A big part of fashion in Second Life is poses which can involve several areas from fashion photographs right onto the catwalk.   If you are like me, you probably have poses scattered throughout your inventory making it difficult to find the right poses for the right occassion.  I finally threw my hands up and said “enough.”  So I went on a search to find the perfect vehicle which will give me the versatility I needed, at an affordable price, and didn’t require that I was a scripting genuis in order to operate it .  I tried out a few until I hit pay dirt – Tillie’s Posing Stand – created by Tillie Ariantho.   Tillie Ariantho wears many hats in the fashion world.  She is not only a wonderful photographer (Tillie Ariantho’s Flickr page), models herself, has her own blog called Tillie’s Things of Second Life and her own store called Tillie’s Store, where you can purchase this posestand.  So if anyone knew what was needed, surely she would.  I wasn’t disappointed!

I put Tillie’s Posing Stand through the Muse test – which consists of three steps:

Test One:    Screw Instructions!

First off, I unpacked, pulled everything out and put the HUD on without reading the instructions.  Yep, you heard me right!  I’m not the type who can be bothered reading instructions, so if I can figure out how to operate it without reading them, I knew I was  off to a good start.  Eveything was pretty self-explanatory, I tossed the poses into the pose stand, put on the HUD on and bingo…I was off and running.  That easy!  No clicking through your inventory to open and run the poses, just click a button on the HUD or use a chat command to go through all your poses or rotate you or your model into the required position. It was SO easy even a caveman could figure it out.    If you are the type who swears by instructions, then you won’t be disappointed.  The Tillie Stand not only comes with text instructions, but a handy photograph diagram, which puts everything in perspective visually. 

tillies-instructions1

Test Two:  Variety is the Spice of Life

One of my credo’s is….Variety is the spice of life.  Will this pose stand offer me the versatility to suit my ever expanding needs?  I can answer that question by saying in “Yes…in spades.”   You get a posestand, HUD and what is called a stand alone HUD.   Features I really liked:

  1. No set limit on the number of poses you can put in it.  Fill it up with 500 poses if you want!
  2. It’s copy….so if I want to organize my poses by types, you can…just throw out another posestand and/or stand alone HUD.
  3. You can name each pose stand for your needs (i.e.  stand poses, sit poses, sex kitten poses, etc…)
  4. You can bypass the posing stand and use what is called the Stand Alone HUD.  Throw your poses straight into your HUD and your off and running.  No posestands to mess with.  Great for the catwalk or when you are on sims with no build zones. 
  5. It has eight positions so you can turn your model with ease from the HUD.
  6. The HUD is copy so if you have a photographer using your stand, just toss them the HUD.
  7. Can be used on the catwalk using the Stand Alone HUD.  Load your poses up before a show and turn yourself with ease to show off every angel of the outfit.  Models spend hours learning how to turn in SL…this will do it for you.
  8. It comes with a HUGE list, including LM’s, of pose stores in Second Life.
  9. I could go on and on…so many features….

Test Three:  Doesn’t Break the Bank

At $600L its definitely not going to break the bank and with everything it has to offer, it’s a steal!

