I must confess, I did not know a lot about Sascha Frangilli.  I saw some nice pictures passing by in the fashionfeeds and it was clear you have to visit Sascha’s Design when you need a gown to steel the show.  But I am glad I have had the chance to get to know her a little bit more, she being one of the designers of the EFA-AIFW2009 event.

And a funny surprise, like me she is dutch:  “I am from Holland and live in the province Brabant nearby Breda. I originally come from ‘t Gooi, but lived all over the world (Australia, USA and France).  I am single and live with my young daughter in a small town and work nearly full-time in RL.”

Sascha opened her store in March last year and started designing in late 2007: “I bought the infamous Business in a Box around March/April 2007 and was totally disgusted with what I found inside.  I wanted to make flexi dresses…. not flexified!  Then around the summer of 2007 I finally got Photoshop on my pc and had an extremely hard time with it, as I have no graphic background whatsoever.  It took me around 6 months on and off to figure out PS out. And the break-through came late December 2007.  To make a long story short, I have been really designing since late 2007/early 2008.”

EFA-AIFW2009 Sascha 6EFA-AIFW2009 Sascha 5EFA-AIFW2009 Sascha 2

Sascha  Frangilli pictured by Connie Arida

For the EFA-AIFW2009 show you have to reproduce 4 outfits from the RL-show. The RL-designer describes her designs as follow: “My common designs are simple and wearable dresses. Those are most of the time made from the unusual choice of material.”  How far does your style meet this style? And can you replace yourself in this style and work with it?

Sascha: “Haha, well I make detailed ballroom gowns with skirts ranging from Man Killers (the infamous battleskirt) to sleek skirts.  I try to make detailed clothing that can be worn for a very long time and that are timeless.  I always include a minimum of 2-3 different flexi skirts so the new owner can always chose what kind of skirt she wants to wear.  My designs are not really simple, I don´t make particular kind of dresses you could wear to the beach, but you sure as hell can wear them to any dance club/ballroom club.”

You are placed in the theme “Soon”  for the show. Do you have some feeling with this theme related to your common style? Does it fit you?

Sascha: “Like I said, I make timeless designs, so it could fit into any category, but no to be honest, I am not really into an avant-garde futuristic style.”

The color of the designs you will create for this show is white. Do you use this color a lot? What is the special challenge for this color? Do you have a special connection with this color?

Sascha: “I myself prefer black and red, but I noticed a lot of my customers like white as well, so I always try to include the colour white in my range of colours.  White is kind of hard to make on SL, unless you are wearing bodylights, LOL.”

EFA-AIFW2009 Outfit Sascha Designs

Photographer of the picture and model on the picture: Connie Arida, wearing SAS – Trocadero White

Plan a shopping trip to Sascha’s Design! And if you are a fan of fashion shows, every week on Thursday evening Sascha hold a fashion show for a known or unknown designer at her store.

EFA - AIFW 2009 (red)

Sascha Frangilli is part of the designer team of the EFA-AIFW2009 show. Her creations will be  presented in the theme “soon”.

