Zaara Kohime is a rather new face in fashion world, her first shop was opened in January 2008. But she stool very quickly many fashion hearts. It seems like everybody, including me, is in love with her designs. A fusion of rich textures, bold colors and contemporary silhouettes is {Zaara}‘s forte.  Packed in an Indian style it gives you the luxury 1001 night feeling, while it is still very wearable for any occasion. Recently she added matching accessories to her collection and… to taste even more the Indian style, she started 2009 by opening her own sim. How will this exotic lady translate the down to earth dutch designs for the EFA-AIFW2009 event?

EFA-AIFW2009 Zaara 3EFA-AIFW2009 Zaara 4EFA-AIFW2009 Zaara 5

Zaara Kohime pictured by Connie Arida

For the EFA-AIFW2009show you have to reproduce 4 outfits from the RL-show. The RL-designer describes her designs as follow: “My common designs are simple and wearable dresses. Those are most of the time make from the unusual choice of material.”  How far does your style meet this style? And can you replace yourself in this style and work with it?

Zaara: I woudnt say so… my style tends to be more layered… casual, whimsy with a hint of opulence. However being a graphic designer in RL, I am used to delivering a job on the given brief.. so this is how I look at it. Though I am sure a bit of Zaaraness would be evident in the design.

You are placed in the theme “Then”  for the show. Do you have some feeling with this theme related to your common style? Does it fit you?

Zaara: Well if I take it literally as the word “Then”(past)… for me my designs are influenced by by various time frames.. from the luxurious styles of the maharajahs to the bustling bazaars and busy city life of Bombay today. Nostalgia appeals to me so probably “then” as a theme suits me fine.

The color of the designs you will create for this show is black. Do you use this color a lot? What is the special challenge for this color? Do you have a special connection with this color?

Zaara: Oh I love black and its not difficult for me to work with this color at all..  its timeless. But I just adore color… and color harmonies is one of my strenghts and I love playing with them in my designs which I guess I cannot do with black. So in that sense it would be ‘different’ for me.

Outfit Zaara

Photographer of the picture and model on the picture: Connie Arida, wearing Zaara: Chaya “pipal”

Go visit the {Zaara} sim, to shop or to make the winning picture for the ZaaraSimContest, you have time until 31 January 2009 to enter.

EFA-AIFW2009 (logo red)Zaara Kohime is part of the designer team of the EFA-AIFW2009 show. Her creations will be presented in the theme “then”.

